Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Wed Apr 25, 2018 6:34 am

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Wireless Adapter
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:38 am
Posts: 16
I have a new Lap Link USB wireless adapter.

Am I able to use this on my Cocktail Audio box or do I have to get the Cocktail Audio dongle to enable me to use wireless?

Hope the answer is yes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Wireless Adapter
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 2:29 pm
Posts: 99
Unlikely I'm afraid.I have read on this forum that the x10 uses a different chip. No harm in trying though!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Wireless Adapter
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:32 am
Posts: 285
You purchase the compatible one or use something with the same chipset - Realtek RTL81XXSU Chipset.
Many media devices have their own or other devices are compatible with a dongle with a chip-type. :idea:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Wireless Adapter
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 4:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:38 am
Posts: 16
Thanks to you both for the prompt replies

I'll give it a try and report back next week


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Wireless Adapter
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:38 am
Posts: 16
Well I'm delighted to say that it worked perfectly and immediately gave me the latest firmware update no 1760 and internet radio when I tested that.

There was an unconnected drawback in that the new firmware update lost my music database but I checked elsewhere on the forum and found that others had experienced the same problem and there was a fix for it which has worked for me.

Thanks again for the encouragement


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Wireless Adapter
PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:51 pm
Posts: 25
I had a similar worry with my newly acquired X30 when a standard dongle didn't work with it.

Rather than buy a Cocktail dongle, I installed a powerline adaptor and connected it to my home hub by wire.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Wireless Adapter
PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2014 1:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 330
Powerline is fine, it's got nothing to do with an adaptor.
Ethernet would probably give you better streaming & gigabit speed unlike wireless... :roll:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Wireless Adapter
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 10:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 3:44 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Alnwick, UK
Just a comment for anyone as naive as I am about chipsets. As tech1a says, the wifi dongle needs to have the Realtek RTL81xxSU chipset.
I thought a £5 RTL8191 dongle from China on ebay sounded near enough. It wasn't.
So, I splashed out on a £6 RTL8191SU dongle from the UK on ebay and it worked a treat. (Just search for RTL8191SU on your favourite shopping site.)
And 'thank you' tech1a.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Wireless Adapter
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 3:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 7:18 pm
Posts: 18
Hi

Can anyone tell me which the manaufacturer of a dongle that definitely works? I bought a Lumens AW-NU120 which according to https://wikidevi.com/wiki/Lumens_AW-NU120 uses the Realtek RTL8191SU chipset, but it gives me "Network set fail" trying to connect to my BT Homehub. I previously had the X10 connected by ISDN through a BT WiFi extender and that worked, but I've moved the X10 to another room.

The light on the dongle flashes suggesting it's not broken, and it appears to connect to the BTWiFi-with-FON network on the Homehub, but that connection doesn't actually work - X10 can't see wireless radio or download firmware updates conected to that.

I've checked the password carefully. I now wonder if I should try the official dongle, or whether there's something odd about my network setup. Various Windows and Android devices and a TV all seem to connect OK via wifi. Firmware version is X1-CA-1.4.0.r1805

Any suggestions?
RC


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Wireless Adapter
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 330
Is the "BTWiFi-with-FON" your network or some openzone stuff?
Dongle should be at the link below: http://cocktailaudio.co.uk/shop.shtml
Does the device work with the same router via ethernet cable?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron