Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Sun May 27, 2018 1:18 pm

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Backup format?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 2:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:57 am
Posts: 7
When I want to back up my Pro X100 onto an external drive, what format is used? can I then copy files to other computers, etc.? is the music in windows folders and files? or some other format? thanks, T

_________________
JFL PP 2A3 Amp, Marantz 7T Preamp, 1993 Klipschorns, Asus netbook running itunes & LMS, Squeezebox Touch, MSB link DACIII, MSB digital director, Audioquest Diamondback ICs, Synergistic Research Alpha Quad Active Shield Speaker Cable


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Backup format?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 5:43 pm
Posts: 25
The same format as it was ripped - flac.
A folder will be generated when you run the backup procedure.
You can check the video here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JYfJo1WsYWA


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Backup format?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 12:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:32 am
Posts: 289
sunnysal wrote:
When I want to back up my Pro X100 onto an external drive, what format is used? can I then copy files to other computers, etc.? is the music in windows folders and files? or some other format? thanks, T


You can access via '\\cocktailaudio' or if you plug in the USB drive it will generate the storage backup after formatting or just copy across.
It literally takes seconds to backup ... :o
It is flexible so you can find your way around it.
You can use the mount option & generate a folder from an external drive too ...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Backup format?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 6:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 9:26 am
Posts: 12
sunnysal wrote:
When I want to back up my Pro X100 onto an external drive, what format is used? can I then copy files to other computers, etc.? is the music in windows folders and files? or some other format? thanks, T


Music stays in the same format, even when you access over the network to edit the tag it will be reflected during playing.
Makes it easier to move & edit without any system issues like the older models. :idea:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Backup format?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 11:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:32 am
Posts: 289
Has anyone tried backing up via the mounter rather than the backup app?
I wanted to backup onto another drive ...i suppose i could even use SAMBA.
Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Backup format?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 3:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 6:56 pm
Posts: 66
As you know; using the mounter is like copying so the script for the incremental wonts be added.
Useful for a quick backup on mixed data & network drives/space ... :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Backup format?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 6:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:39 pm
Posts: 18
Can i backup on a newly formatted drive without using the pro x100?
Not referring to the incremental but a drive i have formatted elsewhere.
Thank you


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Backup format?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 6:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 331
QueueExit wrote:
Can i backup on a newly formatted drive without using the pro x100?
Not referring to the incremental but a drive i have formatted elsewhere.
Thank you


I think you could try naming the backup drive (ntfs) as "backup" then it will work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Backup format?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 4:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:35 pm
Posts: 79
Formatting on MAC can be a bit crazy sometimes !
Either you the Pro X100 or a PC.
With Pro X100 you could even use a "USB portable Linux interface" to copy across without a network (just like a PC).
I am sure i saw a post there on that ...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Backup format?
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 12:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 18
AudioAndrex wrote:
Formatting on MAC can be a bit crazy sometimes !
Either you the Pro X100 or a PC.
With Pro X100 you could even use a "USB portable Linux interface" to copy across without a network (just like a PC).
I am sure i saw a post there on that ...


Tried it on the pro x100 took about 1.5 hour to copy about 1TB onto an external drive.
However this wasn't a conventional backup method.
I used mint usb portable and accessed both devices on a screen with a mouse.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: