Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:54 pm

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Forum rules


No duplicates, else deletion!



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: m4a files
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 4:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 12:14 pm
Posts: 111
Hi
Is it possible on a future firmware upgrade that when playing m4a files, it could actually display what format the file is:- eg. AAC, ALAC etc.
Currently I have mostly ALAC, but with a few AAC files, however my x30 currently shows the package, m4a.
My AAC files also show 44.1khz 16b, yet they are compressed 256kbs files!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: m4a files
PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 5:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 15
Hi Sample rate of say 44100Hz 16bit has nothing to do with the compression unless it's an HD type or other (higher/lower).
So a regular sample rate: 44100Hz can be any mp3, wav, CD etc ...are mostly 16bit files.
One could have a 48 kbps, 22 khz, Mono, MP3 ....8 bit, 16 bit, 32 bit... etc


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: m4a files
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 7:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 12:14 pm
Posts: 111
Hi dteaudio
Thanks for clarifying for me. I was getting confused.
I still think it would be nice if it showed a file such as ALAC, AAC etc rather than the m4a package ;-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron