Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:54 pm

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Forum rules


No duplicates, else deletion!



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 2:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 11:31 pm
Posts: 24
I have downloaded the latest X10 firmware and copied it to an empty memory stick.

Going through the usual firmware installation process (which I have done successfully
several times before) results in my X10 booting as normal, i.e., no installation of new firmware.
The X10 is currently running firmware R1692.

I have tried:

o a different memory stick,

o formatting the memory stick (FAT32) and copying back the firmware,

o different USB port on X10,

o power cycling the X10,

o installing the R1760 firmware.

Nothing changes the behavior, the X10 always boots normally.

There is an led on one of the memory sticks, this flashes a fair bit.

Any suggestions for other things to try?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 6:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:31 pm
Posts: 82
Hi Derek. Assuming your X10 is on your network, forget about memory sticks. Drag the firmware file (ensure it's correctly named (firmware.pkg)) to the HDD1. On the X10, navigate to Firmware/Manual Update (or whatever it's called, mine's turned off just now).

That's what I do. Good luck and Happy Christmas.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 1:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:32 am
Posts: 272
Merry Christmas,
I think it is just the file, could be corrupted (packet during download).
Download the r1793 it is the same thing, i think ntfs is recommended.
I suppose as long as the usb is seen, that is the main thing.
They have added the feature you (derek-farn) have always wanted - "hidden ssid".

ssid post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=847

Link: http://cocktailaudio.co.uk/firmware.shtml


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 11:31 pm
Posts: 24
dortmunder,

Thanks for the interesting suggestion.

I enabled the ftp server on the X10 and transfered X1-CA-1.4.0.r1793.pkg to the hard disc.

Specifying this file for manual firmware update did not work (boot as normal).

Changed the name to firmware.pkg, and the X10 is still booting as normal.

Its as if the pkg file is failing a consistency check.

I looked at the pkg with a binary editor, it starts with: -rom1fs-
which is what is expected.

Is there a checksum test I can perform?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 11:31 pm
Posts: 24
tech1a,

Downloaded the file again and compared with file originally downloaded; diff says they are identical.

Yes, I want to upgrade so I can make use of the new hidden ssid functionality that I have been requesting.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 8:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:32 am
Posts: 272
Well sum check is "87874e4418cfb07c8ccb68a79e07daf8" 1793
And the firmware.pkg option works with 1692, the others are very difficult.
So you could try ER with 1692 again & then put 1793, could be just a problem with the flash.
Hence doing the firmware.pkg with 1692 will clean it up before installing 1793.
Good Luck.
Merry Christmas


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 11:31 pm
Posts: 24
tech1a,

Tried 1692, same result.

Tried a couple of times, after power cycling etc. One one attempt the display showed a thick white
band and a few thin lines that jittered around a bit.

Left it for 20 mins in case the firmware was loading, then switched off via remote.

Switched machine on and everything fine.

Are there any magic options I can set to watch what happens in the transition between checkerboard
and not starting to load the firmware?

Presumably the information to install firmware is written someplace, or perhaps not written in my case?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 4:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 3:41 am
Posts: 14
Location: Tasmania
Have you tried deleting the "New firmware" folder from HDD1 before attempting installation from the memory stick?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 9:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:31 pm
Posts: 82
If, after clearing out the HDD1, you're still not fixed then I suggest switching autoupdate on, immediately switching off the X10 at the back, leave it a minute, switch back on and let the X10 update itself.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 314
@derek-farn, Are you tring ER recovery with r1692 or just regular update?
With ER you have to rename (root directory firmware.pkg) & hold 2 buttons down, then the system will boot & update - bingo!
See link:
http://cocktailaudio.co.uk/firmware/firmwareER.pdf


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron