Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:41 pm

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 11:55 am
Posts: 6
Want to purchase a hard drive to back up my X10. The book says I require a capacity larger than my inbuilt hard drive which is 2tb. I think this means I have to jump up to a 3tb external hard drive as the increments seem to be in 1tb. Additionally my CD collection is somewhere about 1000 and I will probably only ever double or treble that. That means I am only using a fraction of the 2tb available in my x10; does that still mean I require a 2tb + external drive. I am guessing maybe the internal software of the x10 may recognise an external hard drive of capacity less than 2tb and refuse to back up. Sorry it's a bit wordy - but can you advise. Any recommendations of a hard drive would be most welcome too thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 11:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:51 pm
Posts: 25
Appreciate your dilemma and the manual's not too clear about a lot of things. I have an X30 with a 2Tb internal drive and back up to a 500Mb (0.5Tb) external drive. So there you go, you should be ok as long as your external drive has a capacity of at least twice the size of you Music Database.

I might add that bitter experience has taught me to run with at least two current backs ups. Why? Just in case you do a I did - wipe both the internal and the external (back up) drive! :o :roll:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 12:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:12 am
Posts: 319
Just backup the space you have used - simple.
You don't have to buy a bigger drive if you haven't used the whole space.
I used to use the x10 & x30 but have now moved to the pro x100 (after dumping them on ebay) for the backup & database structure.
So i am not entirely sure whether all the incremental issues have been fixed on the x10, x30, x40 type boxes.
I would try a WD or scandisk external drives. Good luck


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 11:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 11:55 am
Posts: 6
Thanks guys for taking time and giving me a steer in the right direction, much appreciated really!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron