Cocktail Audio™ UK Support Forum

|| www.facebook.com/CocktailAudioUK || www.cocktailaudio.co.uk || www.trustpilot.com/review/cocktailaudio.co.uk ||
It is currently Sat Jan 25, 2020 8:48 pm

All times are UTC


Untitled Document

Forum rules


Please don't create a topic for JUST any question, look for an akin post/forum.
For example 'PHP scripts' or webinterface issues will be best posted under 'Web-Interface related Forum'.
Any duplicate posts will be deleted without a reply.
This will make it easier for other users to find the solutions to their queries.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 5:39 pm
Posts: 27
I use X10 also to listen sounds from computer (cartoons, videos, movies...). The connection is done via simple cable from soundcard to line-in port on x10. But the problem is that the sound is at least 1 seconed delayed than video or whatever is displayed on computer. This is quite irritating. Can this be solved?

the manual wasn't helping me much, i changed audio settings (drc,spdif) to off, but the problem remains.

Also it happened couple times that when I switch to AUX and immediatly press volume up, x10 freezed.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 11:13 am
Posts: 269
DRC & SPDIF is not related to AUX sound delay...........its optical related (SPDIF).
Use online manual: http://www.cocktailaudio.co.uk/manual.shtml

Line IN delays the output from the pre-amp for recording the source.
As long as the sound output is from the X10 & not the pre-amp its ok - for example recording LPS or speeches of meetings & lectures......don't have the source output & the X10 together - i think????


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 7:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 5:39 pm
Posts: 27
I do not output the sound from X10 to other amplifier, and also in this case I do not need aux port for recording just listening. I'm just simply starting a video on computer and listening the sound on X10 and there is this at least 1 second delay of sound.

And this is certainly an issue of x10, because I had this exactly the same on my old amplifier working OK. (the only difference was in the cable since X10 uses one jack for AUX-IN, my old amplifier uses separate left and right ports.)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 7:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:45 am
Posts: 901
shori wrote:
I do not output the sound from X10 to other amplifier, and also in this case I do not need aux port for recording just listening. I'm just simply starting a video on computer and listening the sound on X10 and there is this at least 1 second delay of sound.

And this is certainly an issue of x10, because I had this exactly the same on my old amplifier working OK. (the only difference was in the cable since X10 uses one jack for AUX-IN, my old amplifier uses separate left and right ports.)



There is a slight delay with AUX but it’s for recording external source & outputting if the original source is not compared to the AUX feature on X10 (remember its processing the output for recording or other......)
There is no altering or sound rendering but if you are recording & you press stop (on the source sound), you get a second to adjust recording on AUX setup on X10.
Will see what we can do, if users are concerned....... :oops:

Why do you use this with picture ......? :) Use the AMP


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 5:39 pm
Posts: 27
I use it instead of the old amp, which I put away, since I thought X10 will do the job.

I think line-in mode should also be for playback without delaying, it's not meant only for recording


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 5:39 pm
Posts: 27
freemartial wrote:
DRC & SPDIF is not related to AUX sound delay...........its optical related (SPDIF).
Use online manual: http://www.cocktailaudio.co.uk/manual.shtml

Line IN delays the output from the pre-amp for recording the source.
As long as the sound output is from the X10 & not the pre-amp its ok - for example recording LPS or speeches of meetings & lectures......don't have the source output & the X10 together - i think????


Yes, I use sound output from X10, but I don't need recording the source, just playback together with video in computer, and here is this irritating delay. Can't really watch anything, kid's don't complain with cartoons, but...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:31 pm
Posts: 10
Hi,

Is there any resolution to this as I'm also trying to use it via my media player and there appears to be a 2 second delay .. Any chance this could be resolved via a firmware change?

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2013 5:01 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:45 am
Posts: 901
Will keep you all updated on LineInAUX (Chipset update prog required).
Try using a LIPSYNC adj on your Media player or AMP/DAC (many devices now have the sync adjustment is quite common).

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 5:39 pm
Posts: 27
Thank you for not forgeting this one. I tryed your suggestion and in VLC player set to play audio exactly 1 second earlier. Sounds OK, but I still find this a temporary solution and hope for setting in new firmware.
Of course any other audio from PC (for example games) through X10 still delays.

What did you mean with this?

Admin wrote:
Will keep you all updated on LineInAUX (Chipset update prog required).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:31 pm
Posts: 10
Thanks for the suggestion, however I've already tried this (should have mentioned it), unfortunately my media player goes silent if I try to set a delay greater than around 1.3 seconds (even then it stutters) :cry:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron